• NEWS &
  • GIG

back to list

New Glasgow Music Jubilee announces exciting line up for 12th annual event Aug 2 to 5

By Administrator

The award-winning New Glasgow Music Jubilee will once again showcase some of Canada’s top artists during the 12th annual four-day festival at the Glasgow Square Amphitheatre in downtown New Glasgow from Thursday, August 2 to Sunday, August 5.
With something for everyone, this year?s stellar line up of accomplished performers features everything from country to Celtic and rock to blues. Headlining on Thursday is five-time JUNO Award-winning pop musician David Usher who has had chart topping hits in 20 countries around the world. Friday?s headliners are Downchild Blues Band and East Coast Music Award-winning alt-rock trio the Joel Plaskett Emergency, who recently released their critically acclaimed album Ashtray Rock and completed a sold out Canadian tour.
Headlining Saturday is national indie-rock icons Sloan who recently opened for legendary band The Police while Canadian Country Music Award winning Doc Walker, whose video for ?Driving with the Breaks On? is burning up the charts on CMT Canada, will close the event Sunday night.
Also performing on Thursday is songstress Doris Mason and her All Star Band (featuring Dave MacIssac with Jeff Goodspeed and Dave Burton), Liam Titcomb and Bruce Guthro. Taking the stage Friday night is Beyond Ash, Sleep to Dream, Steven Bowers and Alert the Medic. Saturday night features Folds of Policy, Kung Fu Trees, Charlie A?Court, In-Flight Safety and Two Hours Traffic and Sunday night includes performances by Dolores Dagenais, Eric Fresia, Dave Gunning, and Julian Austin.
The New Glasgow Music Jubilee is a celebration of local, regional and Canadian talent overlooking the picturesque East River. A three-time Music Nova Scotia Event of the Year recipient, a Signature Music Event in Nova Scotia for the 6th year in a row, and 2006 ECMA Music Event of the Year nominee, the Jubilee offers quality entertainment at affordable prices for all ages.
Tickets are $15 per night or $40 for a weekend pass (taxes included). Weekend passes go on-sale Friday, July 6 at Sobeys stores in Antigonish, Truro, and all Pictou County locations.
The New Glasgow Music Jubilee is an all-ages event and children under 12 must be accompanied by parent or guardian. A licensed area is available for those 19 and over (ID?s are required). Doors open at 6pm each night and the show starts at 7 p.m.
For a complete schedule and more information on the festival, visit www.jubilee.ns.ca
Artist web links:
Alert the Medic: www.alertthemedic.com
Beyond Ash: www.sonicbids.com/beyondash
Bruce Guthro: www.bruceguthro.com
Charlie A?Court: www.charlieacourt.com
Dave Gunning: www.davegunning.com
David Usher: www.davidusher.com
Doc Walker: www.docwalker.ca
Dolores Dagenais: www.doloresdagenais.com
Downchild: www.downchild.com
Eric Fresia: www.ericfresia.com
Folds of Policy: www.foldsofpolicy.com
In-Flight Safety: www.inflightsafety.ca
Joel Plaskett: www.joelplaskett.com
Julian Austin: www.julianaustin.com
Liam Titcomb: www.liamtitcomb.com
Sleep to Dream: www.myspace.com/sleeptodreamonline
Sloan: www.sloanmusic.com
Steven Bowers: www.stevenbowers.com
Two Hours Traffic: www.twohourstraffic.com

to top of page