• NEWS &
    FEATURES
  • GIG
    GUIDE
  • MESSAGE
    BOARDS

back to list



Gobblefest set to Rock! Sydney Oct 4th to 7th

By Administrator

Gobblefest is THE annual independent music festival in Cape Breton, traditionally held on the Thanksgiving Day weekend. Gobblefest was born in 1993 and this year will celebrate the 14th year of the festival, the longest running festival of its’ kind east of Montreal. The line-up speaks for itself:

Thursday Oct 4th
We Unite Records Showcase
- The Junction - www.thejunction.ca
- C'mon - www.myspace.com/thisiscmon
- wolves - www.myspace.com/wolvesarecoming
- Ricochet - www.myspace.com/ricochetpunkrock
- Get It Get Down! - www.myspace.com/getitgetdown
- The Roots & Rhythm Remain - www.myspace.com/therootsandrhythmremain
- Encounters with the Undead - www.myspace.com/encounterswiththeundead
6pm-11pm Steelworker's Hall (369 Prince St.) - ALL-AGES $9 Cover (comes with We Unite compilation CD)

followed by.....
- Sleepless Nights - www.myspace.com/thesleeplessnights
- Carmen Townsend & the Shakey Deals - www.myspace.com/carmecita
- The Superfantastics - www.myspace.com/thesuperfantastics
- Hulk Out & Kill - www.myspace.com/hulkoutkill
10pm-2am- Bunker's (233 Esplanade)- (19+) $6 cover

Friday Oct 5th
Caper Radio Showcase
- Carmen Townsend & the Shakey Deals - www.myspace.com/carmecita
- Glory Glory Man United - www.myspace.com/ggmu
- Gamma Gamma Rays- www.myspace.com/gammagammarays
- Airport - www.myspace.com/airporttheband
- Jon Epworth- www.myspace.com/jonepworthandtheimprovements
- Fatal Tragedy- www.myspace.com/fataltragedymusic
- plus 1 more
6pm-11pm Steelworker's Hall (369 Prince St.)- ALL-AGES cover:TBA

followed by....
- The Good News - www.myspace.com/didyahear
- Glory Glory Man United - www.myspace.com/ggmu
- The Roots and Rhythm Remain - www.myspace.com/therootsandrhythmremain
- Airport www.myspace.com/airporttheband
10pm-2am Bunker's (233 Esplanade)- (19+) $6 cover

Saturday Oct 6th
Gobblefest Indie Trade Fair
@Steelworker's Hall
2pm start (all-ages)
booths from record peddlers and music service people
plus performances from The Medium Mood, 2 For 25, AA Wallace, and Wayne Flowers

followed by...
Start The Show Showcase
-The Surface - www.myspace.com/thesurfacemusic
-Syracuse Me - www.myspace.com/syracusememusic
-Hulk Out and Kill - www.myspace.com/hulkoutkill
and more more more!
6pm-11pm Steelworker's Hall (369 Prince St.)- ALL-AGES cover:TBA

followed by.....
- Great Plains - www.myspace.com/greatplains
- Born Under Satellites - www.myspace.com/bornundersatellites
- Jetavana Groove - www.myspace.com/jetavanagroove
- Winston Wolf - www.purevolume.com/winstonwolf
10pm-2am Bunker's (233 Esplanade) (19+) Cover:TBA

Sunday Oct 7th
All Day All-Ages Finale
Slowcoaster - www.myspace.com/slowcoaster
Windom Earle - http://windomearle.com
Madame Brown - www.myspace.com/madamebrownmusiconline
The Joyless Streets - www.myspace.com/thejoylessstreets
Die Brucke - www.myspace.com/diexbrucke
Great Plains - www.myspace.com/greatplains
Born Under Satellites - www.myspace.com/bornundersatellites
The Ballroom Massacre - www.myspace.com/ballroommassacre
The Bloodletting www.myspace.com/thebloodlettingmetal
Canadian Tuxedo - www.myspace.com/canadiantuxedoband
Centralia - www.myspace.com/centraliatheband
Revolution 27 - www.myspace.com/revolutiontwentyseven
plus more!
2pm-11pm Steelworker's Hall (369 Prince St.) Cover:TBA

followed by....
The 7th Annual Gobblefest Afterparty
@Club Capri Cabaret (235 Charlotte St)
featuring performances from some of the weekend's performers
11:30pm-3:30am Cover:TBA

*Line-up subject to change*

to top of page