Deprecated: Function split() is deprecated in /var/sites/t/ on line 15

Deprecated: mysql_connect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead in /var/sites/t/ on line 8
The AMP Live - Genre News

Deprecated: mysql_connect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead in /var/sites/t/ on line 8
  • NEWS &
  • GIG

back to list

Music PEI Announces Nominees for Music Awards to be held Nov 10

By Administrator

After submissions from the best and the brightest musicians from Prince Edward Island, Music P.E.I. has announced the nominees for the 2007 Awards. This year there will be a total of 17 categories in which to cast your votes including the return of the Urban Recording Category for the 2nd year in a row.

This year marks the return of past nominees and winners like Chucky Danger, Janet McGarry and Lazy Jacks as well as a number of brand new to Music P.E.I nominees like Rose Cousins, Jenn Grant and Battery Point.

There are 2 awards that will be open to the public for voting. Those awards are Entertainer of the Year and Weekend Warrior. And the nominees are…

Weekend Warrior: Tim Chaisson, Garnet Buell, Stride, Edge, Muddy Buddy

Entertainer of the Year: Lazy Jacks, Tim Chaisson, Muddy Buddy, The Ross Family, Chucky Danger, Edge, Garnet Buell, Kendra MacGillivray & Bruce Rainnie, Elephant Rock, Nathan Wiley, Fiddler’s Sons

These two awards are also the only two that do no require a current recording release in order to be considered. Voting will take place, in cooperation with title sponsors K-Rock 105.5 and Ocean 100, via their websites and Who is your favorite? Don’t forget to vote.

Music PEI member’s online polls are open and voting begun for this year’s nominees under the following categories:

Album of the Year: The City Destroyed Me – Nathan Wiley, If You Were for Me – Rose Cousins, Chucky Danger – Chucky Danger, Orchestra for the Moon – Jenn Grant, 11:11 – Vishten, Make a List – Tanya Davis

Female Vocalist: Jenn Grant, Rose Cousins, Janet McGarry, Tanya Davis, Jolee Patkai
Group: Chucky Danger, Two Hours Traffic, Vishten, Fugato, Fiddler’s Sons

Male Vocalist: Nathan Wiley, Jon Matthews, Tim Chaisson, Battery Point, Gordon Belsher

Songwriter: Nathan Wiley “The City Destroyed Me”, Rose Cousins “Dance if You Want”, Tim Chaisson “Wasn’t For You”, Jon Matthews “Bridge”, Eddy Quinn “Shoulder of the Road”

Instrumental Recording: Cynthia MacLeod, Glen MacEachern and Field Trip

New Artist: Jenn Grant, Saddle River String Band, Tanya Davis, Battery Point, Saxafras

Recording Studio/Production Company: Big Grey Sound Studio, David Rashed Audio Production, Guernsey Cove Parlour Prods, Hog For Ya Productions

Alternative Rock: Stride, Andrew Murray, Nathan Wiley, Two Hours Traffic

Bluegrass: Saddle River String Band, Janet McGarry and Bluegrass Angel Band

Country: Jolee Patkai, Glen MacEachern, Fiddler’s Sons and Garnet Buell

Folk: Lazy Jack, Saxafras, Battery Point, Tanya Davis and Rose Cousins

Jazz & Blues: Field Trip, Heather Doiron, The Blueprints

Pop: Jon Matthews, Timothy Chaisson and Richard K. Ball

Rock: Chucky Danger, Fugato and The Loud Americans

Roots: Cynthia MacLeod, Gordon Belsher, The Ross Family and Vishten

Urban: Eric Broadbent, Dead Airwaves and Practical Academics

Music PEI members online voting polls will remain open until October 31st at midnight.

All of the awards will be handed out on November 10th at The Confederation Centre of the Arts when Kerri Wynne MacLeod takes to the main stage as host of the 2007 Ocean 100/K-Rock 105.5 Music PEI Music Awards Gala.

to top of page