• NEWS &
  • GIG

back to list

ECMA 2007 hands out 21 Industry Awards


The people who work diligently behind the scenes to make the East Coast Music industry strong
and vibrant were honoured by their peers today during the 2007 ECMA Industry Awards Show
and Brunch, sponsored by FACTOR and Canada’s Private Radio Broadcasters. The event was
held today at the World Trade and Convention Centre’s Port Royal Room (Sunday, February 18
at 10am) as part of the 2007 East Coast Music Awards, Festival and Conference.
21 Industry Awards were handed out, including:
o Broadcast of the Year: East Coast Countdown (Syndicated Radio)
o Event of the Year, Sponsored by World Vision Canada: Celtic Colours
International Festival
o Graphic Designer of the Year, Sponsored by Atlantic Digital: Chr!s Sm!th
o Independent Company of the Year, Sponsored by Atlantic Association of CBDCs:
Sonic Entertainment Group
o Industry Professional of the Year, Sponsored by CARAS: Fred Lavery
o Manager of the Year, Sponsored by Delta Barrington and Halifax: Bruce Morel
o Media Person of the Year, Sponsored by Memorial University of Newfoundland:
Liz Rigney
o Photographer of the Year, Sponsored by Tim Hortons: Kelly Clark (kelly clark
o Radio Station of the Year (Small Market): CKEC Radio (New Glasgow, NS)
o Record Company/Distributor/Indie Label of the Year, Sponsored by Premier
Executive Suites: Landwash Music Distribution
o Retailer of the Year: CD Plus and Sam the Record Man (TIE)
o Studio of the Year, Sponsored by Sennheiser: The Sonic Temple
o Technician/Engineer of the Year, sponsored by OIART: Jamie Foulds
o Venue of the Year, Sponsored by Corby Distillery Ltd.: The Fredericton
“These are the people who work hard all year to support East Coast artists and their music,
regionally, nationally and internationally,? said Marc Chouinard, chair of the East Coast Music
Association board of directors. “Our heartfelt thanks and congratulations go out to all the winners
and the nominees. The industry is thriving due to your efforts.?
The Stompin’ Tom Awards, sponsored by EMI Music Canada, are presented annually to one
individual or group from each of the ECMA’s five regions (Prince Edward Island, New Brunswick,
Newfoundland & Labrador, Cape Breton and mainland Nova Scotia). Connors, one of Canada’s
best-known musicians, was presented with the Dr. Helen Creighton Lifetime Achievement Award
in 1993. He accepted the award on the condition that he could return it and requested that an
award be created to honour those who have made a long-term contribution to the East Coast
Music industry, paving the way for the many successful artists of today. A committee of Atlantic
Canadian folklorists, in consultation with the ECMA board of directors, determines the recipients.
The 2007 Stompin’ Tom Award recipients are:
o Skip Beckwith (Nova Scotia)
o Frank Maher (Newfoundland & Labrador)
o Brent Mason (New Brunswick)
o Neil Matthews (Prince Edward Island)
o Sam Moon (Cape Breton)
The Musician’s Achievement Award, sponsored by Gibson Guitars, is a ‘surprise’ award which
recognizes a sideman/session musician who exemplifies professionalism and quality
musicianship on recordings and/or live performances of East Coast Music. This recipient
deserves to be recognized for his or her cumulative contributions. This year’s winner is George
The Volunteer of the Year Award, sponsored by Volkswagen, was chosen by the local event
committee. The recipient this year is Kelly Clark, who worked tirelessly on the Urban Music
Series and Initiatives.
The East Coast Music Association announced late on Friday that Shelley Nordstrom is this
year's recipient of the Industry Builder Award, sponsored by FACTOR and Canada’s Private
Radio Broadcasters. Nordstrom has been a mainstay on the East Coast music scene for many
years and has worked in various capacities through all areas of the industry, helping artists
develop successful careers.
The Industry Awards Show and Brunch is sponsored by FACTOR and Canada’s Private Radio
Broadcasters and was hosted this year Stephen Antle, chair of ECMA 2007 and Elizabeth Logan,
host of CBC Radio’s “Information Morning?.
For bios on the 2007 ECMA honourary award recipients and industry nominees and winners,
please visit www.ecma.com

to top of page